Twenty-Two Days Wild – Bioblitz Work

Today, I managed to sneak my act of wildness into my working day. Some of the children at school are fasting at the moment, so are unable to take part in PE lessons. Poor them ey? As I was standing there with them, looking rather lost on the field, I noticed a false oil beetle scuttling through the grass. It suddenly dawned on me that I could keep these hungry children occupied with a short Bioblitz of the school field.

IMG_7508

They were surprisingly keen. I gave them a short briefing and sent them off to scour the floor and the hedges for as many birds, bugs and even plants as they could find. Considering my school is in Streatham, we have a surprisingly big field. Here is a list of the creatures we found in a quick 15 minute blitz.

Birds

Starlings, House Sparrows, Gulls, Feral Pigeons, Crows, Swifts. 

Bugs

White-tailed Bumblebee, False Oil Beetle, Mothercare Spider, Ant, Green Bottles, Hoverfly.

Mammals

Badger Latrine! 

That’s right, we found a badger latrine on the school field, and you can imagine how fascinated the children were. I am a music teacher, but for 15 magic minutes, I was teaching biodiversity and I loved it.

Subscribe for more like this.

Share with someone who has never seen a badger latrine!

Follow me on Twitter @WillPenrose

Will

Screen Shot 2016-06-12 at 00.43.34

3 thoughts on “Twenty-Two Days Wild – Bioblitz Work

Leave a Reply

