Four Days Wild – What the Cat Dragged in

Day four of the Wildlife Trust’s 30 Days Wild campaign, and nature has found its way into my home.

I started my day turning over logs in Sydenham Hill Woods on a hunt for stag beetles. Although globally endangered, the unmistakable armored creature is doing quite well in London so I thought I’d see if I could find one for myself. My search however was cut short when I received a message from a friend, saying his cat had brought in a fledgling bird and did I know what to do with it. The answer was ‘No, but I’ll have a go anyway!’

I picked up the quivering little golf ball sized fledgling goldfinch in a shoebox and brought him home. My friend, Josh, had done an excellent job of checking for injuries, and had lovingly crafted a nest out of loo roll.

I picked up some live mealworms from the pet shop and some more nest material, then settled him into our flat. At first he was very nervous, and is yet to eat anything, but his confidence is growing rapidly. He seems completely unharmed, so tomorrow, after he’s eaten and got over his shock, I’ll drive him back to Brockley and see if he can find his way back to his nest.

In case you’re wondering, we’ve named him Bob. Bob the bird.

As hard as it is to leave Bob alone, I’ll be giving him some peace and quiet now until tomorrow. Here’s a little sketch I did while willing him to gobble those damn worms!

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 16.54.41

Subscribe for more like this

Share with someone who likes baby birds (who doesn’t?)

Follow me on Twitter @WillPenrose

Will

4 thoughts on “Four Days Wild – What the Cat Dragged in

Leave a Reply

