Hits from the blog

I’m a stat junkie, hooked on figures and graphs. This evening, while getting my daily fix, I noticed something quite interesting. Here are some numbers to get you started as of today:

Twitter followers: 534

Facebook Friends: 511

Being that most, if not all my twitter followers belong to the naturalist, birder or education community, I had assumed that the bulk of my readership would come from there. I was wrong. In September, my best month so far, nearly 200 of my facebook friends read my blog whereas only around 50 of my twitter followers were interested. This made me think about why I blog in the first place. Am I hoping for some sort of glory? Do I need constant reassurance that everything I do is good? Is it just a way of boasting at the fun I’m having? I’m not selling anything… so why bother?

I think it is all of those things to some extent, but at the same time I do it to connect. I try to pay into the community as well as simply enjoying other people’s content. That is why I’m a stat junkie. I want to know that people are reading and enjoying my stories, and the more they do, the more I want to push myself to experience and write about the world. There should be a satisfaction meter for bloggers. A hit would be amber. A like would be green. A comment would be blue and a share… pure gold with confetti falling at your feet. Writing is like an adventure. There’s no way of knowing whether it will turn out well or whether you’ll wish you never started it in the first place.

Here are the pros and cons I’ve found so far to blogging:

Pros

  1. Being part of a community
  2. An easily accessible creative outlet
  3. That feeling when someone retweets your blog (confetti)

Cons

  1. It takes up more time than you ever think it’s going to
  2. That feeling when nobody retweets your blog (vacuum of despair)

I think at the end of the day, if one person reads and enjoys what you’ve written, it’s been worth it. As long as your blogging time doesn’t exceed the time you spend doing the things you blog about, keep doing it.

How did you get here?

 

 

6 thoughts on “Hits from the blog

  1. Great post Will! Highlights perfectly the things we gain from blogging and mirrors my occasional “why do I bother” comments. – All worth it in the end though! Certainly agree with the happy feeling associated with re-tweets and positive responses.

    James.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Well, I came by your blog via twitter (specifically the microdaventure hashtag). For what it’s worth, I’ve been through the same thought process (I’ve been blogging for around 5 years , first on blogger, now on WordPress) and it’s always great to connect with people who find a similar joy in whatever you’re writing about at the time. But the very best thing, the thing that is worth the real gold and confetti (and even fanfares) is reading back on old posts you’d forgotten you’d written, a few years down the line.

    Keep up the good work, your blog is ace.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Good post 🙂
    Those are questions I regularly come back to and as soon as I find myself worrying too much about them, I remind myself of why I started blogging in the first place: to be part of a community, to play with words and other creative outlets. And that usually does the trick because it’s what I have done and what I’m doing.

    I can’t deny that likes, comments, and shares are great and I do get excited each time any of it happens. But at the end of the day, I starting blogging for me and to meet people and I’ve done it. And this is enough.

    PS: but yes, it’s all easier said than done and I admit I have to remind myself of this regularly.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

