Ice Age in Crystal Palace

We woke up to a modest blanket of snow this morning and decided to see what the birds were making of it in the park. It’s been a while since I’ve walked around CP park and I was wondering if there would be as many parakeets now that the temperature has finally dropped. There were still quite a few infact, but what surprised me was the number of long-tailed tits, great tits, blue tits, blackbirds etc. There seemed to be more birds hopping around than there were in the height of summer. I took a few pictures of the blackbirds. I usually find them to be skittish, but this family didn’t mind me wandering amongst them at all.

IMG_6740

IMG_6742

IMG_6750

IMG_6745

There has been a lot of talk on the news recently of overweight squirrels. I don’t know whether squirrels this year are fatter than in previous years, perhaps it has something to do with the warm winter we’ve been having, meaning there is more food around. Although I had heard a lot about it, I hadn’t seen any evidence of this myself until today. Sitting in a tree staring right at me was one of these glutinous beasts.

IMG_6758

Whether it was due to the ice cold water or not, the majority of the ducks had made there way up the waterfall to higher ground. Gulls too were perched up high, on the snow capped dinosaurs, instead of bobbing on the water. One of the Egyptian geese even flapped its way up to the top of the waterfall to join the moorhens and mallards.

IMG_6772

IMG_6774

IMG_6782

IMG_6784

IMG_6787

IMG_6790

IMG_6811

IMG_6798

IMG_6803

IMG_6805

Some opportunists had tried their best to build snowmen from the slushy, off-white remains that scattered the park. In the distance I saw a three tiered snowman sitting in a bright green field. I imagine every inch of snow from said field had gone into his construction.

IMG_6813

IMG_6828

Past frozen lakes and snow hatted flowers, we wandered to Dulwich woods for an extreme game of slippery log challenge. I love how even a little bit of snow transforms a landscape, turning a very ordinary scene into a winter wonderland. Now, if it could just keep snowing so we can all have the week off…

IMG_6838

IMG_6823

IMG_6816

IMG_6735

IMG_6736

IMG_6821

IMG_6822

IMG_6872

IMG_6861

IMG_6871

One thought on “Ice Age in Crystal Palace

Leave a Reply

