All The Redheads Out Today

Still reeling from the visual delights of Dungeness, I was reluctant to go exploring today, but I’m glad I did. I wandered about in an unnamed woodland relatively near me. The sun was shining, although I could see every breath I took. Great beams of light burst through the trees, making the leafy carpet glow like lava underfoot. The light was so bright that I almost missed a fox, casually walking towards me down the pathway. The fox obviously didn’t expect any visitors to his woodland on such a cold, crisp day.

IMG_4450-001

IMG_4452

IMG_4458

The fox saw me but didn’t dash off, instead he just sat there and looked at me for a while. A runner then thundered past sending the fox hurtling into the bushes. I sat and waited for about 20 minutes watching the squirrels, hoping he might come back. He did come back, but so did the god damn runner! I managed to get a terrible blown out shot of the fox just before the runner sent him back into the bushes for good.

IMG_4471

IMG_4483

Not knowing the name of the woods, I’ve remembered it as Parakeet Wood, after all the rose-ringed parakeets that squawk away in the trees. I spent quite a long time watching them while the sun was still shining.

IMG_4515

IMG_4550

IMG_4543

The sun suddenly disappeared, and what was a nice sunny woodland walk turned into a freezing test of endurance. As I left the woods a firecrest flew past me. I just managed to get a blurry photo of its behind for proof. I had never seen one before. As the title of this post suggests, everything seemed to be red today. The floor, the fox and the firecrest.

IMG_4552

2 thoughts on “All The Redheads Out Today

Leave a Reply

