Taking the Weather in, right in.

Dressed something like Ernest Shackleton, trussed up in a hat, hood and gloves, I took to the woods for an hour or so. I couldn’t take out my camera for fear it might dissolve in the miserable November rain, so I took a couple of snaps on my phone for illustrative purposes!


The ground was sodden underfoot, which reminds me to order some leather protector for my trusty boots as I sit here in my car, in soggy socks, waiting for my wife to return from horse riding. Now we get to why I was wandering around in the woods in the pouring rain. I had, apparently, agreed to drive Hayley to Dulwich riding stables. I assume I hadn’t considered the possibility that it might rain. Anyway, that is how I ended up in the woods, with a cold, in the rain.

Fortunately, I had been looking for an opportunity to discover whether the new coat I bought on eBay was waterproof. It isn’t. It turns out that although it looks like it might be waterproof, it actually lets quite a bit of water seep in, slowly freezing you to death. It’s a nice coat though… and obviously a bargain from eBay!

Birds don’t really like the rain. Squirrels don’t seem to mind too much, but armed only with my iPhone camera I couldn’t get close enough to take any photographs of them. Luckily Sydenham Hill Woods, just around the corner from Dulwich Park and riding stables, has a few interesting features that remain there whatever the weather.

  
  
  I got back to the car about 10 minutes before Hayley emerged, just time enough to google all the potential bus routes from our flat to the riding stables. Of course, I loved it really. Into the woods, whatever the weather.

2 thoughts on “Taking the Weather in, right in.

    1. The ruins are actually sham ruins. Apparently it was fashionable in Victorian times to build a folly in your garden or on your grounds to give the illusion of an ancient ruin!

      Here’s some more info – The Sydenham folly depicts a ruined church or monastery – apparently remains of stained glass were still present in the windows back in the 1950s and early 1960s. It’s thought that the arch would once have been complete – although it’s hard to be precise when you’re talking about ruins, and fake ones at that! There are also the remains of a rockery leading down to what was once an ornamental stream. Previously a group of six or seven large houses, including Fairwood, had been built on this 9-hectare site, but these were demolished by the end of the 1970s and the area returned to a woodland state (with a few Victorian era plants thrown in for good measure). It has been managed by the London Wildlife Trust since 1982.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

