Sydenham Hill Woods & One Tree Hill

Today was quite an adventure. Having been pretty much stuck in my classroom for the last 7 weeks, I took the sunshine as a sign to get out and explore.

I thought I had been to Sydenham Hill Woods, but I was thinking of Dulwich Woods, which almost seamlessly blends into it. The walk down to the woods is crazy steep. I found my way to the footbridge, then wandered up the long way round through the woods, to the other side. I saw my first adult Jay and managed to take a picture of its back end!

IMG_2969

IMG_2977

IMG_2981

IMG_2985

IMG_3003

IMG_3008

IMG_3021

IMG_3012

After circling the old railway a couple of times, I decided to give up on the idea of getting an award winning shot of my jay. My friends who live in Brockley had told me a story about Queen Elizabeth I having a picnic there. Apparently in 1602 she walked to the summit of a hill in the Lewisham area and had a picnic by a tall oak tree. The tree became known as the ‘Oak of Honor’ and therefore Honor Oak got its name. Whether the story is true or not, I could imagine a Queen sitting on top of the hill looking down over London. The view from One Tree Hill is spectacular. It was used as a gun station in the great war, and the platform is still there. As lovely as the view may be, I was most interested by a Red Admiral butterfly who was basking in the late October sunshine.

IMG_3040

IMG_3038

IMG_3037

IMG_3035

IMG_3033

IMG_3030

IMG_3042

IMG_3076

IMG_3061

IMG_3060

One thought on “Sydenham Hill Woods & One Tree Hill

Leave a Reply

