Great Spotted Woodpecker

Feeling pretty confident after my green woodpecker sighting this morning, I decided to go back to Selsdon Wood to get a better photograph of the great spotted woodpeckers that I glimpsed last week. I listened out for the tapping and wandered into the woods. The light was pretty bad in the heart of the woods so the picture is a little grainy, but it’s better than the shot I got last week!

Wandering back to my car I nearly stepped on a slug. This slug was the biggest, brightest orange slug I have ever seen. I’m very glad I didn’t step on him, and he was kind enough to pose for a photo.

I’ve now been tipped off about some green woodpeckers in Selsdon Wood. Watch this space! IMG_2075IMG_2072IMG_2074IMG_2077 IMG_2078 IMG_2088 IMG_2091 IMG_2095 IMG_2096IMG_2057

Leave a Reply

