Albino Squirrel in Selsdon Wood

Until today I had never seen an albino squirrel, nor had I seen a woodpecker. I managed to tick both of these wonderful creatures off my list, deep in the jungle that is Selsdon Wood. I spent four hours wandering, completely lost, through muddy tracks. At one point the path I was on became blocked by a fallen tree so I had to turn back. I have a pretty terrible sense of direction so I probably went in circles for sometime, but it was fun nonetheless.

I first heard the woodpecker but couldn’t see it. I’m fairly sure I could hear two or three of them all hammering away high up in the trees. I stood still with my neck craned for about 10 minutes, but the little peckerwood refused to show himself! I wandered on down the path until I came to a tree teaming with great tits, blue tits and long-tailed tits. The birds were so high in the tree that I could hardly see them. Just then, as I tried to get a good shot of them, a woodpecker flew right onto the tree beside them. I just managed to Clint Eastwood my camera over to him before he ducked under a branch and out of sight. I have included the picture of the woodpecker in this post for reference to the story, even if it is the worst photograph I have ever taken.

The albino squirrel rather took me by surprise. Firstly, I didn’t know they existed, and secondly I was again looking up into a tree for a woodpecker when it popped it’s head out from behind a tree and glared right at me. I tried to feed it some cheese biscuits, but this was no fat, park-tame squirrel. This mystical, white, wizard of the woods was not going to come and eat out of my hand.

Selsdon Wood has become a new firm favourite.

IMG_1593 IMG_1604 IMG_1619 IMG_1622 IMG_1632  IMG_1635  IMG_1648  IMG_1650 IMG_1643IMG_1644IMG_1653 IMG_1664 IMG_1683 IMG_1694 IMG_1702 IMG_1706 IMG_1707 IMG_1710

Leave a Reply

