Crystal Palace Park – My Back Garden

Having been left unsatisfied by the two butterflies I spotted in Nunhead Cemetery this morning, I thought I would take a stroll through Crystal Palace Park to see if I’d have more luck there. I found absolutely no butterflies there, but I did find what seemed like almost every species of bird and mammal!

The lake is home to a variety of ducks, geese, grebes, gulls, moorhens, coots, a heron and even pigeons. The pigeons are the funniest as they seem to have a chief who is completely white apart from a black tail. He looks pretty special and I’d probably elect him as my chief too if I lived in that flock. I’ve photographed him before on the same branch, his throne.

Six O’clock seems to be the best time for wildlife in the park, the golden hour. The Parakeets line the paths while tits fill the trees. The squirrels make the most of the evening sun, gathering and burying nuts. The rats seem to fill with confidence as they stroll out onto the paths.

Have I mentioned I love Crystal Palace Park?

IMG_1361 IMG_1395IMG_1377IMG_1383    IMG_1414 IMG_1416   IMG_1442 IMG_1447IMG_1430IMG_1425  IMG_1456 IMG_1458 IMG_1450IMG_1486 IMG_1491 IMG_1493 IMG_1496 IMG_1499 IMG_1500-001

Leave a Reply

